Leavenworth Unified School District 453

News and Announcements

LHS Hosts 150th Birthday Bash

Thank you to all of those who attended the LHS 150th Birthday Bash on Saturday, April 18. For those who were unable to attend, the following is a transcript of a speech delivered by the 2014 Kansas Teacher of the Year, and LHS teacher, Jeff Baxter.
Read More »

USD 453 Schools to Host Kindergarten Roundup

USD 453 will host a Kindergarten Roundup on Thursday, April 30 from 5:30-6:30. Parents and incoming students are invited to meet Kindergarten teachers and building administrators, tour the school, and complete pre-enrollment paperwork.
Read More »


Due to deteriorating road conditions and forecasted snow accumulations for this afternoon/evening, all after-school activities for Wednesday, February 4 have been cancelled. School will release as usual, LHS and Warren Middle School at 2:45 p.m. and elementary schools at 3:30 p.m.
Read More »

Happy 100th Day of School!

Wednesday, January 28 marks the 100th school day of the 2014-15 school year. Students and staff throughout the district celebrated this milestone in the school year with fun activities and costumes.
Read More »

Information About Cold & Flu Season

Cold weather season is upon us, which means so is cold and flu season. Symptoms of flu include fever (usually high), headache, extreme tiredness, dry cough, sore throat, runny or stuffy nose, and muscle aches. Stomach symptoms are more common in children than adults, and may include nausea, vomiting, and diarrhea.
Read More »

Earl Lawson Elementary's Hannah Rosell Named Kansas Horizon Teacher

Hannah Rosell, Earl Lawson Elementary art teacher, received unexpected news on Friday afternoon. Kansas Interim Commissioner of Education, Brad Neuenswander, called Ms. Rosell to inform her she’d been selected as one of 32 Horizon Award winners in the State of Kansas. Four elementary classroom teachers and four secondary classroom teachers are selected from each of the state’s four U.S. congressional districts, making Rosell one of 16 elementary teachers from the entire state to receive the honor.
Read More »